Saturday, April 27, 2013

Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones


Image from BarnesandNoble.com
Harper Trophy, 1986.
0060298812

SUMMARY
Obedient and quiet, Sophie Hatter knows it’s pointless to go out to seek her fortune. She’s the eldest of three sisters and eldest sisters are responsible, not lucky. So when her father passes away and her stepmother sends middle child Lettie to be an apprentice with a pastry shop and beautiful youngest daughter Martha to learn magic from a witch, Sophie isn’t surprised that she’s not sent anywhere. She’s to learn the family business, millinery, and keep the shop running. But Sophie’s tedious life changes when the Witch of the Waste comes into the shop and throws a curse on Sophie. Suddenly, her hands are leathery with wrinkles and she has to hobble to the shop mirror. She’s an old woman! Sophie knows she must leave the shop in order to break the curse and so even though she knows she has the horrible fortune of the oldest child, she sets off down the road. Down the road and right up to the floating castle of the terrible Wizard Howl. Her change in appearance has made Sophie bold and soon she has convinced the wizard, his apprentice, and the magical talking fire Calcifer that she should live in the castle as the housekeeper. In Howl’s moving castle Sophie finds herself in the middle of a complex web of parallel worlds, missing princes, fire demons, falling stars, mistaken identities, strange curses, and of course, lots and lots of magic. Maybe Sophie’s destiny isn’t as humdrum as she thought it would be!

In this ALA Notable Children’s Book Jones creates a world that runs parallel to ours and that plays with many conventions from folktales, such as the oldest child’s tedious fortune. Because it is written in third person, the reader, like Sophie, isn’t always sure who is good or bad until the last chapter of the book. The characters are multi-layered and riddled with faults, fuel for many a plot twist. Sophie, although timid and obedient at the start, becomes stronger and more empowered as she takes charge of her life and her destiny. The dialogue is clever and often humorous. Jones deftly weaves even the most seemingly random bits into the tapestry, creating an engaging and surprising plot. This book was originally published in the UK, so there are some regional references throughout the text. However, it is easy to figure out definitions based on context. This book will appeal to kids and teens and is great for kids who read at a higher level, but aren’t ready for the content of many YA books. A wonderful recommendation for Harry Potter lovers. 

Read an excerpt of the book or listen to a bit of the audiobook and fall in love with Jones' unique storytelling voice.

CONNECTIONS
*Studio Ghibli made a fairly good animated film based on this book. The English language version is voiced by Christian Bale, Billy Crystal, and Emily Mortimor. Try watching the movie after reading the book and then discuss the differences in the plots (mostly minor). Here’s the CommonSense Media review of the movie.

*Read more about the world of Sophie and Howl in the sequels:

*Other middle grade books by Diana Wynne Jones:

The Chrestomanci series (also known as the World of Chrestomanci books)
*Readalikes:
The Sea of Trolls trilogy by Nancy Farmer
Wee Free Men by Terry Prachett
The Wizard’s Hall by Jane Yolen
           
RECOMMENDED AGE/GRADE LEVEL
Age 10+ / Grade 5+

-Amy

No comments:

Post a Comment